Entertainment

Now Playing: Tracks Worth A Listen

By N. Morah

Ten songs that should be getting your attention as the August days fly by.

  • Tyler, The Creator, Hodgy – Analog

A really vibey song that reminds me of riding bikes at night or watching the sunset.

  • Trippie Redd – Wish

This is an extremely happy sounding song with a very sad meaning behind it. The chords behind the vocals are beautiful and it’s such a fun song to sing along to.

  • Mitski – Washing Machine Heart

This song is incredibly sad, but so well done. It’s a good song to sit and think to. Mitski’s voice is magical and it’s definitely worth a listen.

  • Dazey and the Scouts – Nice Nice

This is a riot grrl song about “nice guys” – basically boys who are only nice to women because they expect something in return. It’s a really exciting song with a nice message and its fun to scream the lyrics.

  • Joji – Slow Dancing in the Dark

The lyrics are bittersweet, but the execution and emotion of the song is really what makes me love it so much. There are many layers of chords, especially in the chorus, and the sound fills your head.

  • Pierce The Veil – King For A Day 

It’s very angry and desperate sounding. This is a song you just have to scream and jump around to. It’s basically about being sick and tired and wanting better for yourself. 

  • Maddie Jay – I Got You  

Another love song. The music behind the vocals reminds me of Valentine’s Day. It’s about being appreciating having someone to love and call home.

  • DJ Snake – You Are My High 

A song with very few words, but it has a soulful sound and overall seems very loving to me. I like the way it fades in and out. The background music is constantly changing and giving you something new to appreciate.

  • Blood Orange – Charcoal Baby

It’s about not wanting to feel like the odd one out amongst the people you’re supposed to relate to, constantly mentioning not wanting to be the ‘negro swan’. A song catered to “weird” black people who feel kind of rejected by the black community. This is a topic commonly explored by black indie and rock artists because a lot of people, especially black people, aren’t used to seeing them create in that way and they often get criticized and ostracized for it. It’s important to talk about it and I love to feel seen in the music I listen to.

  • Rex Orange County – Best Friend

Not really sure if this is supposed to be a sad or a happy song, but it makes me happy either way. I love Rex’s voice. The guitar in the background and the drums compliment the vocals nicely. I found this song in an edit and I’d pay my life savings just to hear it for the first time again.

Categories: Entertainment, Music, Opinion

Tagged as: